–INSERT AWESOME SOUNDING TITLE HERE—

So, here I stand eating my breakfast after PT(You did do PT today, right?), thinking about the direction this little hole in the interwebs is going. I think I got it figured out, and maybe somewhat of a why.

So, I like radios. Obviously. I (kinda) like .mil equipment. Mainly because I work with it on a day to day basis. And I’ve noticed a decided lack of adapters for use. Makes sense in a way, because most of the civilian stuff is quite good, and why would you want to use an H-250 (and take the time to make an adapter so you can use it) when you’ve got you’re gear that was designed for your radios?

Well, I’m a firm believer in battlefield acquisition. Especially in a guerrilla warfare environment. Eventually you’re going to need to resupply on ammo, or your radio is going to take some frag during a fight and you will need to replace it. Or your microphone or headset designed for your rig is going to take a dump. Well, without normal supply chains, what can you do?

For starters, if you have an adapter, you can use the .mil 5 or 6 pin connectors. And most of that gear is pretty tough. And second, it allows for a quick disconnect type configuration, so if you need to switch them out, it’s relatively quick. With my EFJ, I can go around with my Liberator 2’s, and when I get back inside, I can quickly switch to a speaker mic and set it down so I don’t have to be right next to it. A lot of the time, I tend to leave the porkchop on when I go outside so I can set it down and listen with the volume high. That thing can get kinda bulky and in the way when you’re moving feed bags around and such.

So, just wanted to get what’s been bouncing around in my mind out of there, figured this was a good place to do it. More to come, hopefully soon.

Leave a Reply

